An intro to this new blog…

April 2, 2008 at 8:47 pm 26 comments

I’m not going to say that I love all vegetables because that would be misleading.  But I do love to try new vegetables.  I may not like them, but then I can honestly say why I don’t like them.  I think many people’s perception of vegetables is somewhat skewed.  They may remember being forced to eat brussel sprouts or green beans when they were a kid and hated them.  But if they were to try them now they may enjoy them.  I just want you to branch out and try 1 new vegetable a week and let me know what you really think of it. If you don’t like it, tell me why you don’t (is it a texture thing, smell, etc.).  Who knows, we might just suprise ourselves with what we like.  For more information about the specifics click on “The Details” tab at the top.

 So without further adieu, I present the first week’s vegetable: Yellow Summer Squash.

Squash!

From the  FoodNetwork Encyclopedia : Summer squash have thin, edible skins and soft seeds. The tender flesh has a high water content, a mild flavor and doesn’t require long cooking. The most widely available varieties of summer squash are crookneck, pattypan and zucchini. Summer squash is best from early through late summer, although some varieties are available year-round in certain regions. Select the smaller specimens with bright-colored skin free of spots and bruises. Summer squash is very perishable and should be refrigerated in a plastic bag for no more than 5 days. It can be prepared by a variety of methods including steaming, baking, sautéing and deep-frying. Summer squash are high in vitamins A and C as well as niacin.

 The deadline for this vegetable is April 13, 2008 at midnight.  (Since this is being posted 1/2 through the week and it’s brand new, I’m giving everyone a little extra time. :) )

Entry filed under: Intro, Squash. Tags: .

Squash Recipes Summer Squash Roundup!

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nikki57  |  April 2, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Not cool … now that it’s “yellow summer” squash I can’t find loopholes :P

    Reply
  • 2. Kyla  |  April 2, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    I love squash. I love it batter and fried or raw or in anything. It is tasty!!! yay for squash.

    Reply
  • 3. NinaBeth  |  April 2, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Nikki: Yes you are the reason I got specific on the type of vegetable. :)

    Kyla: Isn’t it the best!

    Reply
  • 4. nikki57  |  April 2, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Why did I have to open my big mouth? :(

    Ok well I’m going to participate, but I’m not happy about it … I hate veggies and I’m going to be the little 5 year old whiner of the group. As long as you’re ok with that then I guessssssss I’ll participate :P

    Reply
  • 5. Deborah  |  April 2, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    I’ll be participating! I actually made some patty pan squash the other day, but I’m not going to be able to post it this week:(

    But I’m in for the next one!

    Reply
  • 6. beth  |  April 2, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    nina! what a great idea! :)

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  April 2, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    You know I am in… but I can’t promise I will like them all. I think I saw a squash lasagna recipe before. I’ll have to look for it!

    Reply
  • 8. Karen  |  April 3, 2008 at 1:11 am

    Perfect! Can’t wait to see what everyone creates!

    Reply
  • 9. Amanda  |  April 3, 2008 at 3:48 am

    Oh, what a fun idea! Do I need to sign up for this or just submit my blog post when it’s done? I’m really looking forward to this.

    Reply
  • 10. Liz Ramirez  |  April 3, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Do we need to have a blog to participate? I don’t have one but I would like to join :) Let me know. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 11. NinaBeth  |  April 3, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    Deborah: You have until next Sunday April 13 to post so you still have time! :)

    Beth: Thanks!

    CB: Squash lasagna sounds delicious! I’m looking forward to your entry.

    Karen: Me too! I’m excited to see everybody’s recipes.

    Amanda: You don’t need to sign up. Just blog about it (in the blog say it’s for this challenge and email me your link at Ninabeth19@gmail)

    Liz: You don’t need a blog. Just send me an email with your entry. The details are on “The Details” tab. Email me if you have any other questions.

    Reply
  • 12. Jamie  |  April 3, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    Ok, squash of the orange variety is super tasty from the oven with a bit of brown sugar and butter. This yellow stuff ‘however, I have no idea what that might taste like. I’m excited to see your review!

    Reply
  • 13. Rhonda in OK  |  April 3, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    Ok, I am in. You know as your mother, who spent so much time during your early years making sure you ate your vegetables even though you did not want too, I think this veggie blog is really funny.

    and when are you going to do brussel sprouts?

    Reply
  • 14. NinaBeth  |  April 3, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    Jamie: I have never had the orange kind I don’t think, but that sounds delicious!

    Momma (Rhonda): I knew you would find this humerous. :) Um, brussel sprouts may not make an appearance for a while…

    Reply
  • 15. mom2fur  |  April 3, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    I’ll pass on the squash, but I do have to agree I like vegetables more now than when I was a kid. I think it was because, back then, my mother didn’t know when to ‘stop.’ I’m talking pale green, limp, all the nutrients boiled away. And she was a pretty good cook, otherwise!
    Most vegetables, IMHCO (that’s in my humble culinary opinion), rock when you roast them!

    Reply
  • 16. NinaBeth  |  April 3, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Mom2fur: Are you suuure you want to pass on the squash? It really is delicious. :)

    Reply
  • 17. BBKiddo  |  April 3, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    I can’t wait! I love this idea, plus squash is sooooo yum!

    Reply
  • 18. familiabencomo  |  April 4, 2008 at 8:08 am

    Cool – we all love veggies here! I like your idea b/c it’s less brain work for me… whew!

    Reply
  • 19. Amanda  |  April 6, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Okay, I’m at a loss as to what to do with squash. I’ve searched every one of my cookbooks and every website I know of and I still can’t find anything that looks fun. I’m going to keep searching though.

    Reply
  • 20. NinaBeth  |  April 7, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    BB and Amy: I’m looking forward to what you make.

    Amanda: Did you look at the recipe suggestions in the post below this? I know you’ll find something great!

    Reply
  • 21. Kristina  |  April 7, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    I’m in! I love squash!

    Reply
  • 22. Rhonda a.k.a Nina's Momma  |  April 9, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    I made a squash casserole tonight and it turned out really good. The recipe is on AllRecipes. com and you can see it at my blog

    http://ahomewithasmile.blogspot.com/2008/04/squash-casserole-and-banana-pudding.html

    Reply
  • 23. Orzo with Yellow Squash « Do Better  |  April 10, 2008 at 3:53 am

    [...] Happily serving up this Orzo with Yellow Squash to Vindicate the Vegetable’s first event: Yellow Summer Squash! [...]

    Reply
  • 24. Dawn  |  April 10, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    I love squash. I made some with a little butter and onions until it was all cooked down. I am looking forward to the next vegetable!

    Reply
  • 25. NinaBeth  |  April 11, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    Thanks for participating in the challenge Dawn, Did you take any pictures of your squash, if you did, email it to me and I’ll get it added to the roundup.

    Reply
  • 26. Dawn  |  April 11, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    I did not but am thinking of making the same thing tonight and will take pictures then.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Additional Questions?

Previous Posts

VTV Logo

VTV Logo

My Other Blog

Blog Header

The fabulous blog header was created by:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

